What Does The Bible Say About Freedom

15420860_10211327187481746_8968801118711797276_n

My grands dancing at my grandson’s wedding.

I have always longed for personal freedom. I don’t know if all humans feel as I do or not. I long to eat all I want and dance all night long. I don’t do these things because I don’t want to be fat and tired. I have been on a diet for forty years. I go to bed by ten at night. I know that my freedom is in Christ Jesus and I cling to that thought when my rebellious nature wants to take control of me.

Here is what the Bible has to say about freedom.

Do not be deceived: God cannot be mocked. A man reaps what he sows. The one who sows to please his sinful nature, from that nature will reap destruction; the one who sows to please the Spirit will reap eternal life. (Galatians 6:7-8)

For the wages of sin is death… (Romans 6:23)

Don’t you know that when you offer yourselves to someone to obey him as slaves, you are slaves to the one whom you obey—whether you are slaves to sin, which leads to death, or to obedience, which leads to righteousness? (Romans 6:16)

Just as you used to offer the parts of your body in slavery to impurity and to ever-increasing wickedness, so now offer them in slavery to righteousness leading to holiness. When you were slaves to sin, you were free from the control of righteousness. (Romans 6:19-20)

I run in the path of your commands, for you have set my heart free. (Psalm 119:32)

I will walk about in freedom, for I have sought out your precepts. (Psalm 119:45)

The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full. (John 10:10)

You, my brothers, were called to be free. But do not use your freedom to indulge the sinful nature; rather, serve one another in love. (Galatians 5:13)

The Bible tells us that the only way to be free is to turn our life over to God. In Christ we find the freedom we as humans long for.

“The heavens declare the glory of God; and the firmament sheweth his handywork. Day unto day uttereth speech, and night unto night sheweth knowledge. There is no speech nor language, where their voice is not heard. Their line is gone out through all the earth, and their words to the end of the world. In them hath he set a tabernacle for the sun, Which is as a bridegroom coming out of his chamber, and rejoiceth as a strong man to run a race.” (Psa 19:1-5 KJV)

“For the wrath of God is revealed from heaven against all ungodliness and unrighteousness of men, who hold the truth in unrighteousness; Because that which may be known of God is manifest in them; for God hath shewed it unto them. For the invisible things of him from the creation of the world are clearly seen, being understood by the things that are made, even his eternal power and Godhead; so that they are without excuse: Because that, when they knew God, they glorified him not as God, neither were thankful; but became vain in their imaginations, and their foolish heart was darkened.” (Rom 1:18-21 KJV)

“For I delivered unto you first of all that which I also received, how that Christ died for our sins according to the scriptures; And that he was buried, and that he rose again the third day according to the scriptures:” (1 Cor. 15:3-4)

“Who was delivered for our offences, and was raised again for our justification.” (Rom 4:25)

“Howbeit when he, the Spirit of truth, is come, he will guide you into all truth: for he shall not speak of himself; but whatsoever he shall hear, that shall he speak: and he will shew you things to come.” (John 16:13) (Ill. John 16:7-11)

“No man can come to me, except the Father which hath sent me draw him: and I will raise him up at the last day.” (John 6:44 KJV)

“But God commendeth his love toward us, in that, while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.” (Rom 5:8)

2 responses

  1. Congratulations on your grandson’s wedding.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I was afraid I wouldn’t know whether you had responded, as there are no “likes” and “reply” buttons on your email correspondences. Thanks for choosing Trump. I did, too, and joined the volunteer campaign. I’m a college-educated, Jewish woman with a degree. So much for their statistical analyses, right?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

